And now for something completely different

I’ve finally gotten around to trying some of those alternative treatments the media is always going on about. Of course, they wouldn’t have to be so alternative if insurance would just pay for them. And why shouldn’t they be covered. There’s ample evidence of their benefits alone or in conjunction with medical treatments.

Massage, for example, has long been practiced alongside western medicine. Hippocrates wrote “The physician must be experienced in many things, but assuredly in rubbing.”

It was massage I tried today. Thanks to a local deal, I received an hour long massage and a chiropractic exam at an excellent price. (I’ll let you know about the chiropractic bit tomorrow, after my follow up.)

This was my first professional massage. I really didn’t know what to expect so I was nervous and tense. The massage therapist was very kind and reassuring. She kept the pressure relatively low. My neck and shoulders were a bit tender, but everywhere else it just felt nice. If you’ve never had a full body massage, there are a few sensations that might surprise you. Massage on my hands and feet felt surprisingly good and of course, I enjoyed the back and shoulders. Conversely, having my scalp rubbed and face massaged just felt strange. I’m sure the experience is different for everyone.

All in all, while the experience was generally pleasant enough, I didn’t really enjoy it. Part of that is due to my own modesty and nervousness. I had difficulty just relaxing. Instead I kept wondering if her hands hurt having to massage for a full hour. Or I was wondering what she was thinking and if I should be giving feedback. Perhaps if I tried it a few more times I would get over my discomfort.

I’m not sure that I will though.

And as for my headache, no improvement. Yet.

I’m thinking muscle tension plays some part in my issues. I’m wondering if it is the reason my headache has been worse this past year. Dealing with constant pain is stressful, after all.

One thought on “And now for something completely different

  1. Art says:

    Thank you for the insight. It’s good to read what’s going on in your mind.

Leave a Reply

