Chiropractor, or not

I had my consultation with the chiropractor yesterday.

His findings: two of the vertebrae in my neck, c2 and c3, are a little misaligned and the disk at c7 is somewhat compressed.

What does that mean? It means my neck hurts sometimes, and it is causing extra wear on the joints which could cause more problems over time.

Could treatment help my headaches? That is, as my neurologist said, “the million dollar question.”

The answer seems complicated. Some people respond well to chiropractic care, but not the majority. For headaches especially, there its no definitive answer. Nothing the chiropractor said made me feel the neck issues were contributing to the headache. Nothing he said made me think he felt confident treatment would help the headache. But he was hopeful.

He is certain treatment will help my neck. It is a problem worth resolving so it doesn’t worsen.

Timing is the question.

Chiropractic care isn’t cheap and it isn’t covered by my insurance. It isn’t impossibly expensive, but difficult. Right now all my resources, medically speaking, are devoted to treating my headache. Should I divert myself from other treatments to try this?

I’m undecided.

But alas, until I have the resources financially, it must wait, no matter what I decide.

One thought on “Chiropractor, or not

  1. stillstrange says:

    I tried Chiropractic which did nothing for my headaches. I just kept going back over and over again. I don’t think that’s it for me. Supposedly, I have Scoliosis now so I guess it would help with that but..I just don’t have time or want to make time to do that again, at present.

Leave a Reply

