Keep on Keepin’ on: Migraine Awareness #4

Keep onWe often seem to live as though we are moving from checkpoint to checkpoint through life.
As children we look forward to being teens; as teens to adulthood. As adults we move from college to establishing a career to marriage to parenthood. These milestones vary between individuals, but we all move forward through life with one or more of these in mind.

Then there are the goals we set to motivate ourselves between milestones: reaching a promotion, losing weight, saving money for a vacation.
When you suffer from chronic pain the milestones may be similar, but the goals must be adapted to your new capabilities. (I won’t say limitations because that creates an invisible barrier you feel you cannot cross.) My goals may be to make it through the month without missing work or to walk 15 minutes on the treadmill. I homeschool my girls, so one of my goals is to grade their work at the end of every day and to get them out of the house at least once a week.

Moving forward in life, I try to keep in mind that there is nothing that can prevent me from reaching the ultimate goal. Each day in my spiritual practice I pray to be filed with love for God.

As for my migraines, I keep on keepin’ on. God can do the rest.

Leave a Reply

