Being Broke

When we married he promised his support.

But how could he know it would be so one-sided.

I may be there to cook a simple lunch,

to make the bed or do the laundry,

But who could have guessed that normalcy

would die when I turned thirty?

My attention turned inward by my own pain,

I fail to notice his

quiet determination to not trouble me

with his doubts or worries or regrets.

I push to make it through each day,

living not just surviving,

and I hope my chores add up to a fair effort,

Because I’m no good at balancing the books.

Yet, I’m the one who does it.

so I can hide from him how broke we are.

Money I mean,

Because somehow, our relationship isn’t.

2 thoughts on “Being Broke

  1. Art says:

    A “Like” button simply isn’t precise enough. Where’s the “I’m glad I read this but it’s miserable that you feel this way and I totally feel you but it still hurts a little” button?

  2. Brilliantly written! I know many will identify with this, I know I did 😀

Leave a Reply

