Hear Ye, Hear Ye

Image“Alright everyone, let’s get this meeting started.

First off, let’s discuss what we talked about last week. Then we’ll cover any new issues, and close with a look at what is happening this week.

Any questions?”

This sounds like the opening to just about any club or group meeting. In actuality, this is how a family meeting is structured in my house. Having a weekly meeting is a great way to make sure everyone feels they have a voice. It’s also great for keeping up with a full calendar.

Before you start looking on me as some sort of domestic hero, I must confess: we just started having family meetings last week. It’s something we had done in the past, but discontinued for some forgotten reason. I’m hopeful that we can keep up the family meeting routine for good this time. Even if our schedules aren’t busy or when the kids have grown, it’s important to have a forum for issues. Everyone comes to the meeting with an open and respectful attitude, so no one feels they are being attacked or singled out. 

Last week, my issue for consideration was housework. I know I haven’t been doing as much as I could, but I also need help. So I mentioned my problem at the meeting and am taking this week to work on my side of the problem. Next week everyone will have had time to think of ways they can help and we can come together with a solution. 

Having a chronic pain condition means that my expectations for myself are always shifting. Family meetings are a chance for me to let my family know what I need and to be surrounded by support. In return, I hear their concerns and am there to support them. 

Getting through life is sometimes such a balancing act. It helps to have extra support.

One thought on “Hear Ye, Hear Ye

  1. Art says:

    Couldn’t do any of this without you. You make things happen that I sit around wishing for.

Leave a Reply

